Newbie questions - synthetic quilt
Posted: 26 July 2008 04:45 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Recent Registration
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-07-24

Hi all,

I am planning on making a quilt similar to the one by Glenn Hecko here…

http://www.backpacking.net/makegear/make-quilt/index.html

I am using 1.1 oz ripstop and 5oz Climashield XP.  My one idea for a modification to the design so far is to use snap closures instead of sewing the footbox closed.  I thought of velcro first but then read some posts about entangled socks and that would drive me nuts.  I think it would be good to have the flexibility of unsnapping the footbox if I felt I needed more room or if it is warmer.  If there are any comments on this design and said modifications, I would appreciate them greatly.

I also have a few questions as I am a newbie at sewing.  I will be using my wife’s Bernina (model 1008) and will get some help from her with setup, etc.  Here are my questions…

1. Should I wash the ripstop before I cut and sew it?
2. What size needle should I use?
3. What stitch should I use?
4. What kind of thread should I use?
5. I am guessing since most seams will be inside the quilt, I don’t need to worry about felled seams.  Correct?  What about the seam on the bottom where I close up the quilt, should I do a felled seam there?

Also, once it is made…
6. How, and how often should I wash it?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

best,
Purkolator

Posted: 28 July 2008 12:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  39
Joined  2007-10-14

I use the snap footbox on my quilts and i love it.  I place my snaps 6” from each other and use webbing pullouts to give the snap some reinforcement. (oh i do 5 snaps at foot and 1 at head)

1) Don’t wash it first.  It would fray all over and your wife would kill you for the mess.
2) I use the smallest universal needle i have on hand. Size 9 i think, just a guess as i don’t pay much attention to details.