Right machine to sew dehydrated fairy wings…
Posted: 03 July 2011 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]  
RankRank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2011-06-19

...at least, that’s what some of this stuff feels like.

While I know that most gearmakers are using pretty much what ever came to hand, and doing a good job, I haven’t got a machine yet and I’m stuck on which one.
What’s considered the most important feature of any machine that needs to deal with the light materials? Is it ‘feed’, or stitch accuracy? I would like to know what you think - any anything to avoid, anything.

I’m at the stage where I’m not sure whether to cough up a little more and go for an old classic like a Bernina. But if people here know of a readily available ‘every day’ machine that stands out for lightweight materials, I’d be very grateful to hear of it.

Thanks for reading.

ps - I’m new to Thru-Hiker and ‘General Topics’ and ‘Gearmaker’s Lounge’ seem to have the same kind of thread topics. Have I missed something? Thanks.

Posted: 03 July 2011 09:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRank
Joined  2011-06-19

I’ve just won a ‘Bernina 707 Minimatic’ on ebay. For an old machine they seem to have a good rep.

Posted: 04 July 2011 01:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  432
Joined  2007-05-07

That should work fine as long as it’s in working order.  Most of the time these used machines have been in a closet since the 70’s since clothes are so incredibly cheap few people actually repair or make their own anymore.  I don’t know that particular machine, but all the Berninas I have seen have been of high quality.