Question about possible Minima vest insulation
Posted: 14 September 2007 03:00 AM   [ Ignore ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2007-09-12

Hello.  This is my first post here.  I’m kind of new to MYOG, but I completed a bug bivy last summer with nanoseeum from Thru-hiker.com, and have aspirations for many more projects now that I have some confidence in my sewing ability.

For a variety of reasons, I’m looking to make a synthetic-fill vest (using the Minima vest kit) that has 1.5-1.75” of single layer loft.  Exactly which insulation, or insualtion combo I would be using for this is what I’m having a hard time figuring out.  The one criteria I have that I don’t want to change is the amount of loft I want the vest to have.  I’m not trying to replace a down vest, so I don’t care how it’s weight or compressed volume compares to a down vest of equal warmth, and I’m not trying to make a vest that will keep me warm down to a specific temperature.  I’m trying to make a synthetic-fill vest with 1.5-1.75” single layer loft.  Whatever insulation I use, I’d like it to be as compressible as possible and as warm as possible, for synthetic, to optimize the packability and functionality of just such a vest. 

I think, maybe, my criteria boil down to the following sentence: I’d like to use the insulation that’s warmest per unit of volume—when compressed.  I’ve come up with a couple questions I can’t figure out the answers to on my own, but feel free to just cut through the multiple rambling questions with a single recommendation for the insulation you think I should use, given what I’m looking for.
-I see that the clo/oz is somewhat higher in Primaloft One vs Primaloft Sport and ditto for the clo/oz between Climashield XP and Climashield Combat.  What this means to me is that I should choose either Primaloft One (in multiple layers) or Climashield XP for my vest.  Is there any reason I should be considering PL Sport or CS Combat?