Spinntex as a bivy bottom?
Posted: 14 September 2007 04:06 AM   [ Ignore ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2007-09-12

I’m new to bivies, especially UL bivies.  I recently made a bug bivy, using 70 denier tent footprint fabric for the bottom, a which I think equates to 2(?)oz/sq yd, so I’m very uncertain on how something at half the weight would hold up as the bottom of a bivy.  I’m familiar with silnylon, but so far am not familiar with Spinntex.  On paper, at least, it’s a very interesting fabric, and when I think of the momentum-topped bivy that I’ll be making this fall, Spinntex seems like a better choice for the bottom than silnylon.  But, again, I don’t know about this fabric’s limitations.

Is 0.88 oz/sq yd Spinntex too delicate to be used as a bivy bottom? 

For 0.97 oz/sq yd Spinntex, same question. 

I’ll probably be using a polycro groundsheet most of the time, or at least have one in my pack in case I have to make camp on wet or muddy ground (so I can spread my gear on something dry).  Would polycro—the kind sold by Gossamer Gear—protect the bivy bottom at all against abrasion or would I have to get a groundsheet that’s actually a stronger fabric than the bivy bottom itself?  It seems like even a Spinntex groundsheet would be of zero use in protecting a Spinntex bivy bottom from abrasion because something that’s sharp enough to rub through the groundsheet would also be sharp enough to go through the bivy bottom—but maybe I’m reading too much into it and that’s not how it works in practice.

Maybe there’s another, more basic factor I should consider.  Noise.  That is, from what I have read, it seems this is a very noisy fabric.  Would it be stupid to use such a noisy fabric in an application that would put it 1-2” away from my ear?