Sewing Noob
Posted: 26 December 2007 09:56 PM   [ Ignore ]  
RankRank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2007-12-26

Hi all,

I am a sewing noob who just got his first sewing machine for xmas. Pretty excited.  So a number of questions:

1. The bobbin basics article looks like the bobbin and casing is identical to my own new machine.  Is that by any chance a Euro-Pro Shark 7133 in the pictures?  I’d be stoked if so as that would be a nice validation for me.

2. I have the Euro-Pro Shark 7133.  Does anyone else here use that?  Any tips you can offer to a new with the same machine?

3. Can anyone here recommend a good sewing forum that is active and helpful (sewing in general, I mean, not specific to outdoors).

Thanks all!

Posted: 27 December 2007 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  432
Joined  2007-05-07

Hi Zeeple-

Congrats on your new machine.  You’ll have a great time with it I’m sure.

The bobbin basics article used a Simplicity S02, but most machines use a similar type of setup so I’m not surprised your 7133 looked the same. 

I know of several homemade outdoor gear forums but I don’t frequent any general sewing boards or newsgroups.  There have been times I’ve ended up searching for a piece of info and ended up at something like alt.sewing , so if you don’t get any help from someone in-the-know google will probably yield up a good baseline.

Tips for getting started would be:
-use new needles and quality thread
-balance your machine to the project at hand
-practice any new combination of materials first with cut-offs to correct any stitching problems in advance of the seaming your project.
-every project you complete is like a course in how to approach your next project.  learning by doing is the quickest way to develop skills to make the complicated stuff.

Posted: 27 December 2007 03:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
RankRank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2007-12-26